top of page

Maddy Reviews: EXTRAORDINARY YOU

PLOT


Eun Dan-O (Kim Hye-Yoon) is a student at a prestigious high school. Her family is wealthy, but Eun Dan-O has a heart disease. Her fiance Baek Kyung (Lee Jae-Wook) attends the same prestigious high school. She likes him a lot, but he does not like her at all. Suddenly, Eun Dan-O has short-term memory loss and she can see what will happen in the near future. She gets confused by her symptoms. Then, Jinmiche, from the school cafeteria, tells Eun Dan-O that she is a character in the comic "Secret" like everybody else there. Eun Dan-O learns that her character is not even a main character, but rather an extra and she doesn't have much time to live. Eun Dan-O is stunned, but she decides she wants to find her own true first love and not someone written by the comic writer. One day, she falls down the school stairs. She feels her back touch the back of another student, among a group of male students. Her heart suddenly starts to flutter. Eun Dan-O wants to find the male student who made her heart flutter. She eventually finds the student (Ro Woon) and he is her classmate. He is a character that doesn't have a name. They get close and Eun Dan-O names him "Ha-Roo."


CAST


Kim Hye-yoon as Eun Dan-oh

Rowoon as Number 13 / Ha-ru

Lee Jae-wook as Baek Kyung

Lee Na-eun as Yeo Joo-da

Jung Gun-joo as Lee Do-hwa

Kim Young-dae as Oh Nam-joo

Lee Tae-ri as Jinmichae (Secret) / Geum Jin-mi (Neungsohwa)



MY RATING | 8/10 |


REVIEW

SPOILER ALERT


I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed Extraordinary You! As not so much of a fan of dramas of the romance genre, I'd say that's quite the compliment.


I'd like to start with how much I loved how unpredictable the drama was all the way through. At first I thought it would be very similar to W: Two Worlds. In fact I was expecting the characters to enter the real world till the very end. Which didn't happen. I'm still not quite sure whether that was disappointing or not.


What truly impressed me in this drama is the chemistry between the main characters Dan-Oh and Ha-Ru. You see, one of the reasons I rarely enjoy romantic dramas is the lack of such. However, those two warmed up my heart whenever they showed up on the screen.


Now let's focus on the 'villain' of the story for a second, Kyung. I have to admit, the most annoying character I've seen in a while. Which indeed is an achievement for the actor. In my opinion, his character was lacking depth. Yes, his mother was mentioned near the end of the series and yes, we see a lot of his father. Still that wasn't enough for me.

Same goes for most of the characters. I would've loved to see a stronger reaction. After all, they discovered that their family, friends and obviously themselves are nothing but a drawing controlled by someone from another world.


Speaking of, what was most interesting to me was the old comic book. We clearly see that the conversations Dan-Oh and Ha-Ru have outside of the stage can be found in that forgotten comic book. That leads me to believe that the characters in the comic "Secret" are controlled not only in the stage, but also outside of it.

Of course this is nothing but a conspiracy theory.


Overall, I think it's a lovely drama, I recommend it to everyone who's up for a little bit of fantasy and romance.


4 views0 comments
bottom of page